I Horded Books Out Of Fear

I was watching a vlog by Lindsay, where she was discussing a point about being enslaved to books, and how at times in her life she’d amassed substantial collections of books and also how in some movies/shows people will have books in the background, in order to ‘impulse’ that they are ‘knowledgeable’ or ‘trustworthy’. And I have faced similar points in my life as well, wherein I liked to have certain books on my shelf to try to project that I am intelligent, or thoughtful, and other points as well depending on the book, like for example, a book about witchcraft to give an air of mystery or something, lol.
I also realized another point while listening to her vlog, which was that I found a kind of comfort in having a collection of books, it was a comfort in ‘knowing’ that I have access to knowledge. Because in this world, not everyone has that access. We have quite inequal access of information, when you look at the various levels of education around the world, and how some people have quite shitty lives because they lack education which they can apply to make things easier. Not to mention that where there is lack of education there is most likely lack of basic necessities, and thus the people are too busy trying to get their basic needs to simply survive in the physical reality, that they aren’t able to work on the point of education.
It is no secret what a difference an education can make, what a difference having access to relevant knowledge and information can have. For example, I am now 30 years old, the internet did not exist when I came into this world, I remember playing with the internet when I was about hm 12? 13? and it was quite limited. And in the years after that, it was usually a lucky shot if I was to get any search results for what it was I was looking for and I’d give up in frustration, only to then try again a few years later and suddenly there is many results, and it has been growing like that ever since. I am not going to go into just how extensively the internet has changed my life, by having this practically instantaneous access to knowledge and information, but it is tremendous when you consider that anything little thing that I have a question about, I can just put it into google, and likely get something. (Although the internet can be about a billion times better in an Equal Money System, where there is not the influence of profit limiting and distorting what is on the internet and how we’re able to use it.)
So in much the same way that on a large scale, our fear of loss, our fear of ‘scarcity’ leads us to hording, I horded books, from a starting point of trying to protect myself from the fear of scarcity of access to information. Fascinating.
Access to internet has such a profound effect on one’s life, that Everyone should have access to it. And better if we have a system which is not limited by profit so that information can truly be shared and tested to ensure that the information stands as what’s best for all life, and not what’s best for some’s profit, as that leads to a lot of abuse in this world.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

